



Minutes of the DHST Council Meeting, 23 July 2017

Venue: Salon Panoramico, Hotel Windsor Plaza, Rio de Janeiro

Present: Efthymios Nicolaidis (President); Mike Osborne (President Elect); Lesley Cormack (First Vice-President); Jean Gayon (Second Vice-President); Catherine Jami (Secretary General); Annette Vogt (Assistant Secretary General); Assessors: Takehiko Hashimoto, Frank James, Maija Kallinen, Krishnamurti Ramasubramanian, Luiz Carlos Soares, Xiaochun Sun.

Apologies: Jeffrey Hughes (Treasurer).

The President welcomed Council members and reminded them that the main task of the Council during this meeting was to prepare for the Ordinary Session of the General Assembly to be held on 26 an 29 July. Accordingly the Council went through the Agenda of this Ordinary Session and made the following decisions and remarks relevant to some of its points:

2. Voting rights

The Council approved the voting list of Ordinary Members compiled by the Treasurer on the basis of payment of membership dues during the years 2013-2016 (the rule is that only Ordinary Members who have paid their dues for at least three of these four years can vote).

4. Report of the Treasurer

The Treasurer, whose health does not permit him to attend the Congress, has sent in his report and has passed on the documents to be examined by the General Assembly through Frank James. The Council reviewed the report and asked the President to present it on behalf and the Treasurer, and the Secretary General to prepare an explanation for the General Assembly concerning the variations in the balance of the DHST account between 2014 and 2017 (slide 13 of the report).

The Council reviewed the issues of membership categories and irregular payment by some ordinary members, and unanimously approved the following two rules concerning membership dues:

- 1. An Ordinary Member can opt up by paying more than the fee determined by its GDP.
- 2. An Ordinary Member can apply to the Council to change to a lower membership category. The Council can approve this change of category until the following Ordinary Session of the General Assembly. Membership categories of Ordinary Members who have opted down shall be reviewed by the Council in years during which an Ordinary Session of the General Assembly takes place.

6. Commissions and Sections

- b. Terms of Reference for the International Commission on the History of Mathematics The Council voted to support the IMU Executive Committee's stand that ex-officio members of the Commission should not have a vote, which is reflected in the new Terms of Reference to be submitted to the General Assembly (9 in favour, 2 against, 1 abstention).
 - c. Request from the Commission on the History of Modern Chemistry to change its name

The Council confirmed its support to the request of the Commission on the History of Modern Chemistry to change its name to "Commission on the History of Chemistry and Molecular Sciences" and thanked this Commission for its work.

d. Proposal for a new DHST Commission on Science, Technology, and Diplomacy
The Council requested the President Elect to liaise with Simone Turchetti (University of Manchester) before the latter presents the proposed new Commission to the General Assembly. It also recommended that the Commission should include scholars from more countries outside Europe and North America and strive to include pre-20th century topics in its activities.

7. DHST Membership

The Council thanked the Secretary General for her efforts to reach out to historians of science and technology in countries that are not members of DHST, especially but not exclusively in South America and recommended that these efforts should be continued by the next Council.

8. Update of the DHST Statutes and Rules of Procedure

The Council stressed the importance of the updates of the DHST Statutes and Rules of Procedure, especially in view of the need to ensure the possibility for DHST to have a legal status and a permanent bank account. It thanked the Secretary General for her work on the English and French versions of the proposed new Statutes and Rules of Procedure.

9. Cooperation with DLMPST

c. Change of structure of the Joint Commission

The Council unanimously approved the modification of article 3.2 of the Memorandum of cooperation between DHST and DLMPST proposed by the working group of DLMPST-DHST cooperation (members: Efthymios Nicolaidis, Menacham Magidor, Catherine Jami, Benedikt Loewe, Jean Gayon and Hasok Chang).

Present version of article 3.2:

The members of Joint Commission are the Chair of the Joint Commission, together with each division's President and Secretary General who serve as ex officio members.

New version of article 3.2:

The Board of the Joint Commission is made up of the Chair of the Joint Commission, together with each Division's President and Secretary General who serve as ex-officio members. Other persons can be co-opted as members of the Joint Commission by a decision of the Board of the Joint Commission.

This new version of article 3.2 will be submitted to the Council of DLMPST

11. CIPSH

The Council thanked Xiaochun Sun for his work as member of the Board of CIPSH, and unanimously nominated him to serve on the CIPSH board for another term. It noted that the Secretary General would represent DHST at the next CIPSH General Assembly, to be held in Liège on 6 August 2017, and attend the World Humanities Conference (Liège, 6-12 August) on behalf of DHST. It also expressed appreciation of the initiative of HaPoC to organise a panel on "Ethical, political and legal aspects of computing" at this Conference.

12. ICSU

The Council thanked the Secretary General for ensuring IUHPST's presence in the two of the three ICSU funded projects: "Trans-disciplinary Research Oriented Pedagogy for Improving Climate Studies and Understanding" (TROP-ICSU) and "A Global Approach to the Gender Gap in Mathematical and Natural Sciences: How to Measure It, How to Reduce It?" and recommended that the History of Meteorology and the Women and Gender Commissions should be involved in these projects.

13. Report of the Nomination Committee

The Council expressed its gratitude and appreciation to the Nominations Committee chaired by Ida Stamhuis (Free University of Amsterdam) for its work, and Ida Stamhuis for her willingness to help prepare guidelines for the next Nominations Committee. It noted that the proposed new Rules of Procedure should make the next Committee easier, as the procedure to be followed is stated in detail in this document.

16. Venue of the 26th congress

The Council confirmed that each of the three bidders for the hosting the 26th ICHST (to be held in 2021) would have had 10 minutes to present their proposal to the General Assembly.

19. Election of the new DHST Council

The Council confirmed that each candidate for the post of President Elect should have five minutes to address the General Assembly. Candidates for others posts should each have two minutes, except for assessors who should have one minute. A person standing for two offices should only address the General Assembly once, before the vote concerning the first of the posts for which she or he stands.

Frank James accepted the Council's request that he should serve as moderator for these addresses as well as for the presentations of the bids to hold the 26th ICHST.

The President thanked all Council members for their work for DHST during the past four years, and reminded them that they should attend the Old and New Councils meeting that would take place on Sunday 30 July at 9.00 a.m. in the same room.