International Union of the History and Philosophy of Science

Division of History of Science and Technology

Minutes of the 2013 General Assembly Manchester, UK

First session

Wednesday 24th July 14:00–17:30 University Place Lecture Theatres A and B

The DHST President Prof. Liu Dun welcomed the participants and opened the session.

1. Approval of the agenda

The Secretary General Efthymios Nicolaidis presented the Agenda. The Agenda was approved unanimously.

2. Approval of the voting list

The voting list presented by the Treasurer Catherine Jami was approved unanimously.

3. Report of the Secretary General

The Secretary General read his report (see document attached). The report was approved unanimously.

4. Report of the Treasurer

The Treasurer read her report (see document attached). The report was approved unanimously.

5. Nomination of examiners for the accounts

Two examiners were elected by the G.A.: Bettina Wahring and Lesley Cormack. The accounts, bank statements, and receipts were given to the examiners by the treasurer in order to produce their report for the second session of the G.A.

6. Proposal and vote for the new DHST Vade Mecum.

The Second Vice-president Michael Osborne presented the main lines of the new DHST guide prepared by the Committee named by the Council for that purpose (see document attached). He explained that it is a living document. He proposed that the guide be published on the DHST website and be updated and improved continually. The G.A approved the work of the Committee who prepared the DHST guide and also approved the process of the living document proposed by Michael Osborne.

7. IUHPS Statutes and change of IUHPS to IUHPST (add Technology). IUHPS statutes have been recently found in the Archives. These statutes need to be updated according to the new DHST guide and also the new DHST-DLMPS agreement. The G.A. decided that the statutes should be updated.

The Secretary General presented the new DHST-DLMPS agreement to be approved by the G.A. The agreement was approved.

The change of the IUHPS name to IUHPST was proposed to DHST G.A. for approval. DLMPS representative Prof Wilfrid Hodges explained that this change had already been approved by the DLMPS G.A. in Nancy in 2011. The change of the name was voted by all members excepting three abstentions.

8. Presentation of candidatures for next DHST Council

The Secretary General presented the names of the candidates and thanked the Nominating Committee and especially its Chair Professor Eberhard Knobloch for the efforts to find enough candidates for all Council offices. He explained that despite its efforts, the Nominating Committee had not received enough proposals and that according to the statutes additional proposals were received by the Secretary General. Also, according to the statutes additional proposals can be given to the S.G. until 48 hours before the voting session of the G.A. (that means Thursday 25 July, 14.00 h.). The final list will be published in the main Hall (registration hall) of the Congress on 25 July at 14.00 h. The S.G. also proposed to the G.A. that in the future the Commissions (and not only ordinary members, i.e. the National Committees) should have the right to nominate candidates.

Second session

Saturday 27 July 14:00–17:30 University Place Lecture Theatres A and B

- 1. Nomination of examiners for the DHST Council elections The G.A. elected as scrutinizers Irfan Habib, Hasok Chang and Sara Schechner.
 - 2. Report of financial examiners

The examiners Bettina Wahring and Lesley Cormack presented their report. They found the DHST accounts in good order. The financial report was approved unanimously. The G.A. thanked the Treasurer Catherine Jami for the work done.

3. Proposals for hosting next (25th) IUHPS/DHST Congress and vote César Lorenzano representing the Argentina National Committee and Luiz Carlos Soares representing the Brazilian National Committee were given by the President Liu Dun 5 minutes each to present their country candidature for next DHST Congress in 2017. After the presentations, the G.A. voted by secret

ballot. The result of the vote is as follows: Brazil 37 votes, Argentina 23 votes. Therefore the next Congress will be held in 2017 in Rio de Janeiro.

4. Approval of the nominations of the Presidents of the Commissions

The Secretary General explained that the approval of the nominations of the Presidents of the Commissions is a formal procedure: the Commissions are free to elect their board. He presented the updated file with the Commissions boards (see document attached). Some of the Commissions have elected new boards in between the Budapest and the Manchester G.A. and some others during their meeting in Manchester Congress. The G.A. approved unanimously the new Commissions Presidents.

The First Vice-president Paolo Brenni in his capacity of Chair of a Committee set up by the DHST Council in order to prepare a document for procedures for DHST Commissions presented his report. He explained that some basic rules such as to present an annual activity and a financial report and to have a website will be published on the DHST website. This procedure was accepted by the G.A.

5. Proposals for new commissions and new members

Modern Physics Commission asked the G.A. to approve the change of its name to Physics Commission. The change of the name was approved unanimously.

A proposal to create a new commission named Literature Commission was introduced by Prof. George Vlahakis (see document attached). The G.A. approved the creation of the new commission with two votes against and three abstentions.

A proposal to create a new commission named History and Philosphy of Computing Commission (HAPOC) was introduced to the G.A. by Prof. Liesbeth De Mol (see document attached). The Commission will be an inter-division Commission with DLMPS. The creation of the new Commission was approved unanimously.

The treasurer Catherine Jami introduced a proposal to accept as a new DHST ordinary member New Zealand. The proposal was approved unanimously.

6. Approval of the Manchester Manifesto

The Manchester Manifesto (see document attached) was presented by Second Vice-president Michael Osborne. The G.A. voted unanimously that the Manifesto should be adopted with eventual amendments sent by the members to Michael Osborne no later than 31 August 2013.

7. Other matters (presented by G.A. members)

Professor Vassili Borisov on behalf of the Russian delegation presented to the G.A. a letter of protest to the Russian State authorities concerning the proposed

reform of the Russian Academy of Sciences (see document attached). The G.A. approved unanimously to send a letter of protest.

8. Election of the new DHST Council

The Secretary General presented the final list of the candidates (see document attached) and dispatched the ballots to the G.A. members.

The result of the elections appears on the document attached. Bellow the elected Council members:

Executive Committee

President
Efthymios NICOLAIDIS
President Elect
Michael OSBORNE
First Vice-President
Lesley CORMACK
Second Vice-President
Jean GAYON
Secretary General
Catherine JAMI
Treasurer
Jeff Hughes
Assistant Secretary General
Annette Vogt

Assessors

Takehiko Наѕнімото
Frank JAMES
Maija KALLINEN
Krishnamurthi RAMASUBRAMANIAN
Luiz Carlos Soares
Sun Xiaochun

The president Liu Dun thanked the participants and closed the session.

Appreciations were shown for the work of Liu Dun and past-president Ronald Numbers