Ordinary Members

ARGENTINA
Prof. César Lorenzano
National University of Tres de Febrero, Buenos Aires
cesarlor@yahoo.com.ar

AUSTRALIA
Chair of the Australian National Committee for History and Philosophy of Science:
Prof. Joan Leach.
Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science
The Australian National University
joan.leach@anu.edu.au
Contact:
Meaghan Dzundza
National Committees Coordinator, The Australian Academy of Science meaghan.dzundza@science.org.au

AUSTRIA
Prof. Hermann Hunger
Austrian Academy of Sciences
Dr Ignaz Seipel-Platz 2, 1010 Wien
hhunger@oeaw.ac.at

BALTIC STATES
Prof Peeter Müürsepp 
President of the Baltic Association of History and Philosophy of Science
President of the Estonian Association of History and Philosophy of Science
University of Technology,Tallinn, Estonia
peeter.muursepp@ttu.ee

Prof. Jouzas Al. Krikstopaitis
Vice President of the Baltic Association of History and Philosophy of Science
President of the Lithuanian Association of History and Philosophy of Science
krikstop@ktl.mii.lt
Prof. Juris Salaks 
Vice-President of the Baltic Association of History and Philosophy of Science
Co-President of the Latvian Association of History of Science
juris.salaks@rsu.lv

BELGIUM
National Committee of Logic, History and Philosophy of Science
Secretary:
Prof. Geert Vanpaemel
Royal Belgian Academy of Science and the Arts
geert.vanpaemel@wet.kuleuven.be

BRAZIL
Sociedade Brasileira de Historia da Ciencia – SBHC
Rio de Janeiro – RJ – Brazil
sbhc@sbhc.org.br
President:
Christina Helena Motta Barboza
Museu de Astronomia e Ciências Afins, MAST
christina@mast.br

BULGARIA
Prof. Boris Chendov
Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
Bchendov@bas.bg
Dr. Mladen Zonev
Secretary of the Bulgarian National Committee for History of Science
Centre for Science Studies and History of Science, Bulgarian Academy of Science

CANADA
Prof. Lesley Cormack
Dean, Faculty of Arts
Professor of History
University of Alberta, Edmonton
Lesley.cormack@ualberta.ca

CHINA
Prof. Xiaochun SUN
Deputy Dean
School of Humanities, University of Chinese Academy of Sciences
xcsun@ucas.ac.cn

COLOMBIA
Academia Colombiana de Ciencias Exactas, Físicas y Naturales
President: 
Jaime Rodríguez-Lara

CROATIA
Dr Tomislav Petkovic
University of Zagreb
Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing, Dept of Applied Physics
Tomislav.petkovic@fer.hr
petkobn@yahoo.com

CUBA
Prof. José Altshuler
Sociedad Cubana de Historia de la Ciencia y la Tecnología.
La Habana
Jea@infomed.sld.cu

CZECH REPUBLIC
President:
Prof. Dr. Ivan Jakubec, CSc.
ivan.jakubec@ff.cuni.cz
Secretary:
Dr. Alena HADRAVOVÁ, CSc.
had@sunstel.asu.cas.cz
Vice-President
Prof. Dr. Petr SVOBODNÝ, PhD
petr.svobodny@ruk.cuni.cz

DENMARK
Prof. Carl Henrik Koch
Filosofisk Institut
Københavns Universitet
Helge Kragh
Kragh@phys.au.dk

EGYPT
Prof. Abdul Hafız Helmy Mohammad
Department of Zoology, Faculty of Science
Ain Shams University, Abbasiya, Cairo
Mhafez@mail.com

FINLAND
President:
Adj. Prof. Maija Kallinen
Finnish National Committee of IUHPST/DHST
Maija.Kallinen@oulu.fi
Secretary:
Prof. Panu Nykänen
Finnish National Committee of IUHPST/DHST
panu.nykanen@ttatv.fi
Members:
Prof. Ari Sihvolaari sihvola@aalto.fi
Dr. Marjaana Niemi marjaana.niemi@uta.fi
Dr. Heikki Mikkeli heikki.mikkeli@helsinki.fi
Prof. Tapio Markkanen tapio.markkanen@helsinki.fi
Finnish National Committee Webpage

FRANCE
President:
Prof. Karine Chemla
CNRS, Paris
chemla@univ-paris-diderot.fr
Vice-president:
Jacques Jouanna
jjouana@orange.fr
Secretary General:
Gerhard Heinzmann
gerhard.heinzmann@univ-lorraine.fr
Treasurer:
Catherine Verna
catherine.verna@wanadoo.fr
Assistant Secretary:
Jean Mosconi
jean.mosconi@wanadoo.fr
French National Committee Website

GERMANY
President:
Prof. Dr. Reinhold Bauer
Historisches Institut
Universitaet Stuttgart
reinhold.bauer@po.hi.uni-stuttgart.de
German National Committee Webpage
Past Presidents
Prof. Dr. Eberhard Knobloch
Eberhard.knobloch@tu-berlin.de
Prof. Dr Bettina Wahrig
b.wahrig@tu-braunschweig.de

GREECE
Hellenic Society for the History, Philosophy and Didactics of Science
President:
Prof. Kostas Skordoulis
History, Philosophy and Didactics of Science and Technology Programme
Department of Education, University of Athens
kskordul@primedu.uoa.gr

HUNGARY
Contact person: 
Dr. Benedek Láng
Head of Department, 
Dept. of Philosophy and History of Science, 
Budapest University of Technology and Economics, 
lang@filozofia.bme.hu

INDIA
Chairman, of Indian National Committee for IUHPS:
Professor R.Gadagkar
FNA, Centre for Ecological Sciences
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
ragh@ces.iisc.ernet.in
Member-secretary:
Prof. S.M.R. Ansari
Former Professor of Physics, AMU,
Raza.Ansari@gmx.net
Past President:
Prof. V.B. Subbarayappa
Centre for History and Philosophy of Science
Indian Institute of World Culture, Bangalore
Phispc@bgl.vsnl.net.in
Dues Invoice to:
Indian National Science Academy
Executive Secretary Shri S. K. Sahni

IRAN
Iraj Nikseresht
History of Science, University of Tehran
inikseresht@yahoo.com
Prof. Mohammad BAGHERI
History of Science Institute, University of Tehran,
Mohammad Bagheri
mohammad.bagheri2006@gmail.com
mbagheri@tabrizu.ac.ir
Prof. H. Alemzadeh
Institute for the History of Science, Tehran

IRELAND
Royal Irish Academy representative
Dr Ida Milne
Maynooth University
milnem@tcd.ie
Program Manager
Vanessa Carswell
v.carswell@ria.ie

ISRAEL
President of Israeli Society for History and Philosophy of Science:
Prof. Nadav Davidovitch
Ben Gurion University of the Negev
nadav.davidovitch@gmail.com
Website

ITALY
Dr Antonio Lamarra
CNR – ILIESI
Institute for the European Lexicon and History of Ideas
Roma
antonio.lamarra@iliesi.cnr.it
Dr Manuela Sanna
CNR – ISPF
Institute for the History of Philosophical and Scientific Thought in Modern Age
Napoli
sanna@ispf.cnr.it

JAPAN
Japanese National Committee:
Prof. Tadaaki Kimoto
Science Council of Japan
tadkimoto@gmail.com
nqg41451@nifty.com

KOREA
President:
Prof Shin Dongwon
Chonbuk National University
Director, Korean Institute of History of Science
newsdw@jbnu.ac.kr 
Secretary:
Kim Tae-Ho
Chonbuk National University
taeho.kim.75@gmail.com

MEXICO
President
Dr. Ismael Ledesma Mateos
hisbio@avantel.net

NETHERLANDS
Drs. Lodewijk C. Palm
Secretary of Gewina
c/o Utrecht University
Institute for the History and Foundations of Science
office@gewina.nl

NORWAY
Professor Dr. Geir Hestmark
Department of Biology
University of Oslo
geir.hestmark@bio.uio.no
Past President
Prof. Nils Roll-Hanse
Department of Philosophy
University of Oslo
nils.roll-hansen@ifikk.uio.no

POLAND
President
Prof. Halina Bartnicka
Institute for the History of Science
Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw
Vice-president
Dr. Hab. Jaroslaw Wlodarczyk, Prof. PAN
Institute for the History of Science
Polish Academy of Sciences
Warsaw
jaroslawwlodarczyk@wp.pl
Past President
Prof. Halina Lichocka
Institute for the History of Science
Polish Academy of Sciences
Warsaw
halinalichocka@wp.pl

PORTUGAL
President
Prof. Henrique Leitao
Centro de Historia de Ciencia, Faculdade de Ciencias, University of Lisbon

leitao.henrique@gmail.com

ROMANIA
Prof. Mihai Draganescu
Romanian Ácademy
Dragam@valhalla.racai.ro

RUSSIAN FEDERATION
Dr. Sci. Vasily Borisov, President
Institute of the History of Natural Sciences and Technology
Russian Academy of Sciences
Moscow
borisov7591@yandex.ru
Secretary:
Larisa Belozerova
larissa@ihst.ru
Russian Academy of Sciences
President: Vladimir Fortov

SERBIA
President
Prof. Dr. Aleksandar Petrovic
Serbian Society of History of Science
Seminar for Social Sciences, Faculty of Philology, University of Belgrade
Petralist@gmail.com

SLOVAK REPUBLIC
Prof. Juraj Sebesta
Comenius University Bratislava
sebesta@fmph.uniba.sk
President of Slovak Society for History of Science and Technology.
Dr. Miroslav Morovics
Dept. of History of Science and Technology
Institute of History
Slovak Academy of Sciences
Bratislava
histmoro@savba.sk

SPAIN
Spanish IUHPST/DHST Committee
President:
Emma Sallent del Colombo
emmasallentdelcolombo@gmail.com
President of the Sociedad Catalana de Historia de la Ciencias y de la Tecnicas
Secretary:
Emilia Calvo Labarta
ecalvo@ub.edu
Website

SWEDEN
Swedish National Committee for History of Science and Technology
Chair:
Prof. Sven Widmalm
Department of History of Science and Ideas
Uppsala University
Vice-chair:
Dr Kristina Söderholm
Luleå Technological Institute
kristina.soderholm@ltu.se
Secretary:
Dr Solveig Jülich
Linköping University
solveig.julich@idehist.su.se

SWITZERLAND
Prof. Erwin Neuenschwander
Mathematisches Institut
Universität Zürich
neuenschwander@math.uzh.ch

SYRIA
Prof. Sami Chalhoub
History of Basic Sciences
Institute for the History of Arabic Science,
Aleppo

TAIWAN
Prof. Hao Chang
Center for General Education
I-Shou University, Kaohsiung City
changhao@isu.edu.tw

TURKEY
Prof. Ekmeleddin Ihsanoglu
Research Centre for Islamic History, Art and Culture / IRCICA
Istanbul
Ircica@ircica.org

UNITED KINGDOM
Prof. Patricia Fara
Department of History and Philosophy of Science
University of Cambridge
pf10006@cam.ac.uk

USA
U.S. Consortium for the History and Philosophy and Science
Prof. Jay Malone
440 Geddes Hall, Notre Dame, IN 46556
jay@hssonline.org