Historical Commissions

  • Commission on the History of Ancient and Medieval Astronomy (CHAMA)
  • Commission on Bibliography and Documentation (CBD)
  • Commission on the History of Science and Technology in Islamic Societies (CHOSTIS)
  • International Commission on the History of Meteorology
  • Commission on the History of Physics
  • Commission on the History of Modern Chemistry
  • International Commission of the History of Oceanography
  • Pacific Circle
  • Scientific Instruments Commission (SIC)
  • Science and Empire Commission
  • Commission on Women and Gender in Science, Technology and Medicine
  • Commission on Science and Literature

Commission on the History of Ancient and Medieval Astronomy (CHAMA) 
President:
Alexander Jones
Institute for the Study of the Ancient World
New York University
15, 84th Street, New York NY 10028, USA
alexander.jones@nyu.edu
website

Commission on Bibliography and Documentation  (CBD)
President:
Birute Railiene
Bibliography Unit of the Information Department
The Wroblewski Library of the Lithuanian Academy of Sciences
Zygimantu 1, 01102, Vilnius, Lithuania
b.railiene@gmail.com
website

Commission on the History of Science and Technology in Islamic Societies (CHOSTIS)
President:
Prof. J. L. Berggren
Department of Mathematics
Simon Fraser University
8888 University Dr., Burnaby, B.C. V5A 1S6, Canada
berggren@sfu.ca
website

International Commission on History of Meteorology
President:
Prof. Georgina Endfield
Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
University of Liverpool
georgina.endfield@liverpool.ac.uk
website

Commission on the History of Modern Chemistry
President:
Prof. Jeffrey A. Johnson
Department of History
Villanova University
800 E. Lancaster Avenue, Villanova, PA 19085
jeffrey.johnson@villanova.edu
website

Commission on the History of Physics
President:
Prof. Olival Freire
Programa de Pos-Graduação em Ensino, Filosofia e Historia das Ciências (UFBa-UEFS)
Instituto de Fisica – UFBa
Campus de Ondina
Salvador – BA – 40210-340
Brazil
olival.freire@gmail.com
website

International Commission of the History of Oceanography
President:
Prof. Helen Rozwadowski
University of Connecticut Avery Point
1415 Shennecossett Road
Groton CT 06340, USA
helen.rozwadowski@uconn.edu
website

The Pacific Circle
President:
Prof. John Gascoigne
School of History
University of New South Wales
High Street, Kensington, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia 2052
j.gascoigne@unsw.edu.au
website

Scientific Instruments Commission (SIC)
President:
Prof. Silke Ackermann
Museum of the History of Science
Broad Street, Oxford OX1 3AZ, UK
silke.ackermann@mhs.ox.ac.uk
website

Science and Empire Commission
President:
Dr Jahnavi Phalkey
King’s India Institute
King’s College London, London WC2R 2LS, UK
jahnavi.phalkey@kcl.ac.uk

Commission on Women and Gender in Science, Technology and Medicine
President:
Prof. Maria Rentetzi
National Technical University of Athens
Efestion 11, Thisio, 11851 Athens, Greece
mrentetz@vt.edu
website

Commission on Science and Literature
President:
Prof. Georges Vlahakis
Hellenic Open University in Patras, Greece
gvlahakis@yahoo.com
website