Division for the History of Science and Technology (IUHPST)

2017 DHST Prize for Young Scholars


The International Union of the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology, Division of History of Science and Technology (IUHPST/DHST) invites submissions for the fourth DHST Prize for Young Scholars, to be presented in 2017. Initiated at the 22nd International Congress of History of Science in 2005 held in Beijing, the DHST Prize is awarded by the IUHPST/DHST every four years to up to five young historians of science and technology for outstanding doctoral dissertations, completed within last four years. The 2017 DHST Prize does not specify distinct categories, but submissions must be on the history of science or technology in any part of the world. The Award Committee will endeavor to maintain the broadest coverage of subjects, geographical areas, chronology and civilizations (African, American, Asian, Islamic, Western and Ancient Civilisations, and others not included in the above list). Each Prize consists of a certificate, assistance with travel and accommodation expenditures to the 25th IUHPST/DHST Congress in Rio de Janeiro in July 2017 and a waiver of registration fee. The winner of a prize whose thesis is relative to Islamic science is also awarded the Ihsanoglu Prize given by ISAR Foundation.


The Committee is comprised of the DHST President, Vice-Presidents, Secretary General, and distinguished specialists in specific fields.


  • Submission deadline: 31 August 2016 (update: application still possible until September 1st, 22:00 UTC).
  • Qualification examination and preliminary selection: September 2016.
  • Award Committee online meeting: October-November 2016.
  • Approval by DHST Council: December 2016.
  • Award Ceremony: 23-29 July 2017, Rio de Janeiro.


Eligibility: Applicants must have a doctoral degree in the history of science or technology awarded no earlier than July 2012.
Language: Any dissertation in a language other than English must be accompanied by a detailed summary in English of no more than 20 pages.

Applicants must submit online at http://hpdst.gr/youngscholarsprize/application.

Check list:

  • Fill the application form.
  • Upload the dissertation in pdf format.
  • For dissertations in a language other than English, upload a pdf file with a detailed summary of no more than 20 pages.
  • Upload a letter of recommendation by the supervisor of the thesis.


To contact the President, Dr. Efthymios Nicolaidis, please use the contact form at www.hpdst.gr/contact.


The following theses have received the DHST 2017YSP:

Mario Cams, Companions in Geography: Maps, Instruments and the Mapping of Qing China (c. 1685-1735), University of Leuven

Andrew Stuhl, Empires on Ice: Science, Nature, and the Making of the Modern Arctic, University of Wisconsin

Elena Serrano Jerez, Science for Women in the Spanish Enlightenment (1753-1808), Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona

Layne Karafantis, Under Control: Constructing the Nerve Centers of the Cold War, The Johns Hopkins University

Andreas Sommer, Crossing the Boundaries of Mind and Body: Psychical Research and the Origins of Modern Psychology, University College London

Amir-Mohammad Gamini, Quṭb al-Dīn Shīrāzī and his Role in the Science of Hay’a, Iranian Institute of Philosophy (receives also the Ihsanoglu prize)


The following theses have received a special mention:

Maria Luísa de Castro Coelho de Oliveira e Sousa, Automobility in Portugal. The construction of the sociotechnical system, 1920-1950 [A mobilidade automóvel em Portugal], Universidade NOVA de Lisboa AND Université Sorbonne Nouvelle

Madalina Valeria Veres, Constructing Imperial Spaces: Habsburg Cartography in the Age of Enlightenment, University of Pittsburgh

Joeri Bruyninckx, Sound Science. Recording and Listening in Bird Song Biology, 1880-1980, Maastricht University

Iris Montero Sobrevilla, Transatlantic Hum: Natural History and the Itineraries of the Torpid Hummingbird, ca. 1521-1790, University of Cambridge

Michael Jeremy Barany, Distributions in Postwar Mathematics, Princeton University

Note: exceptionally this year 6 prizes (and not 5) have been awarded.